Friday, May 3, 2013

Girl Scouts Elect New Board Members

The Girl Scouts North-Central Alabama elected the following officers at the annual meeting held April 27: President – Rachel Russell of Shelby County, retired, AT&T (pictured); First Vice President – Dawn Stanley of Huntsville, space launch systems system engineering and integration technical manager, NASA/Marshall Space Flight Center; Second Vice President – Sarah Edwards of St. Clair County, retired registered pharmacist; Third Vice-President – Mary Edna Wuertenberger of Calhoun County, retired, GSUSA; Secretary – Tina Waggoner of Shelby County, community volunteer; and Treasurer – Cindi Vice of Jefferson County, chief financial officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama. 

Directors elected to the board include Peter Bosworth of Shelby County, assistant director, UAB Comprehensive Center for Healthy Aging; Marlene Brown of Jefferson County, accountant, Vulcan Materials; Pam Callaway of North Carolina, community volunteer; Diane Dunning of St. Clair County, assistant attorney general, State of Alabama DHR; Steven Hobbs of Tuscaloosa County, law professor, University of Alabama; Barbara Johnson of Shelby County, retired pediatric nurse practitioner, Elaine Kwarcinski of Shelby County, substation construction manager, Alabama Power Company; Rachel Poovey of Morgan County, principal, Decatur City Schools; Kathleen Rose-Byington of Jefferson County, artist; Dr. Sally Smith of Talladega County, owner, Sleeping Giant Veterinary Clinic; Aaron Tews of Shelby County, senior estimator, Honeywell International; and Ruth Ellen Yeager of Jefferson County, certified women's health nurse practitioner.